CAHERSIVEEN, COUNTY KERRY
A very interesting little area to visit and explore. First is the Barracks in the town, then there is Ballycarbery Castle situated near the waters edge across the River Fertha from Cahirciveen and about a 2km drive from the town, turning left shortly after crossing the bridge and soon turning left again at a fork in the road.
Also within view of the castle are the ringforts - we explored only one lower one of these.
The Barracks was designed and constructed during the period 1869-1871 and is arguably one of the most picturesque with its turreted structure nesting in the beautiful South Kerry landscape.
The existing ruins are probably those of the castle of Valeneymen called Ballycarborow, referred to in a document of 1569.
Local legends say there is an underground tunnel linking the Castle to the nearby Stone Fort of Cahergall. The entrance to this tunnel is supposed to be under the south east corner of the castle.
Part of the southern wall of the castle is missing completely because local farmers in the past took the stone away in order to build their houses. This combined with years of Irish weather have taken its toll on the castle but the structure itself is remarkably intact.
These Forts are over the bridge from Cahersiveen and are near Ballycarbery Castle. They are set in a beautiful surrounding with nice views all around.
The Cahergall ringfort has undergone extensive reconstruction but part of the original is still there. It is as perfect an example of a ring fort as can be found in the area. The design is a credit to the people who built it. There is an inner sanctum where a fire could be lit and people could stay warm and also an outer sanctum with thick walls and steps. The outer wall is higher in the direction of the prevailing winds to provide maximum shelter.
Surprisingly wide on the top.
The majority of the perimeter walls were destroyed by Cromwell's army. It appears to have been slighted by parliament forces in 1651-2, when Valentia Harbour was being fortified. Dated by Leask to the 15th Century, it comprises a fine, ivy covered tower house surrounded by the remains of a bawn. Much of the South and East walls of both the keep and bawn are destroyed, presumably due to the mid 17th Century slighting, though a portion of the southern bawn was dismantled and removed in the early 20th Century.
This page was last updated: November 17, 2010